Share On Facebook ! Tweet This ! Share On Google Plus ! Share On Digg ! Share On Reddit ! Share On LinkedIn ! Post To Blogger !

The 2016 Hugo Award Winners for the Best in SF and Fantasy

Hugo AwardLast year's Hugo Awards were dominated by a power struggle between groups of members, leading to most categories receiving a "no award" decision.

This year, members of the World Science Fiction Convention renewed their commitment to being a part of the nominating process to determine the finalists, leading to a record-breaking number of nomination ballots in 2016. Interestingly, fewer ballots were cast to select the winners, suggesting that members whose preferred authors did not get nominated decided to not take part in the final vote. (Ahem. This dynamic may be playing out in a larger context as well this year.)

And now the winners have been announced! See below for the results in select categories. While these winners were determined by the votes of the World Science Fiction Convention, I've also noted how Amazon customers have rated these books, as of Monday morning, August 22.






  • The Sandman: Overture written by Neil Gaiman, art by J.H. Williams III - WINNER [On 4.6 stars out of 5 stars, 147 customer reviews]
  • The Divine written by Boaz Lavie, art by Asaf Hanuka and Tomer Hanuka
  • Erin Dies Alone written by Grey Carter, art by Cory Rydell
  • Full Frontal Nerdity  by Aaron Williams
  • Invisible Republic Vol 1 written by Corinna Bechko and Gabriel Hardman, art by Gabriel Hardman



  • Andy Weir * - WINNER
  • Pierce Brown *
  • Sebastien de Castell *
  • Brian Niemeier
  • Alyssa Wong *

* Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility. Note that the John W. Campbell Award is not a Hugo Award but is awarded during the same ceremony.


The full list of categories and their winners can be found here.


You might also like:



Sign up for the Amazon Book Review: Best books of the month * author interviews * the reading life * and more


Read More

Next PostNewer Post Previous PostOlder Post Home

Popular Posts

Powered by Blogger.