Wednesday, July 20, 2016

YA Wednesday: Best Books of July



ThisSavageSong200It's the midpoint of summer and the perfect time to lay around and read something you don't want to put down--like our July YA Spotlight pick, This Savage Song

The first book in a new series by Victoria Schwab, I immediately fell in love with the world she's created--a city divided between humans and monsters, the light and the dark.  It reminds me a bit of Laini Taylor or Holly Black's Coldest Girl in Coldtown.   And then of course the characters Kate and August, both vying for their parents' acceptance though neither really wants to follow in their footsteps when it gets right down to it.  Great action, friendship, romance--already waiting on the next book.  

Below are the other titles we think are the best YA books of July.

 

Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book

 Lucky Strikes by Louis Bayard
 
I'm a fan of Bayard's adult novels so was eager to read his first YA--and loved it.  Amelia is a scrappy, resourceful 14-year-old who takes charge of her family and their little gas station after her mother's death. Her will to succeed despite the odds and ability to see the good (or bad) in people is endearing and wonderful.
 

Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book

 And I Darken by Kiersten White
 
The first book in a new series, this fantasy has lots of political intrigue, family drama, and betrayals, all set against the glamour and brutality of the Ottoman Empire.  Perfect for fans of The Winner's Kiss trilogy.
 

Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book

 
A 17-year-old Russian physicist prodigy is brought to the U.S to help NASA fend off a world-ending asteroid. He may be bringing his scientific wizardry but he has much to learn about love and life as a regular teenager.  If you liked We Are the Ants, check this out.
 

Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book

 The Season by Jonah Lisa Dyer
 
A very funny retelling of the Pride and Prejudice story based around a tomboy soccer player who gets roped into participating in Texas' most elite debutante society and learns that not everyone--including herself--is what they seem...  Perfect light hearted summer read.
 

Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book

 Flying: A Novel by Carrie Jones
 
Three words: alien hunting cheerleader.  Oh yeah. In this wild adventure story a teenager with a stifling helicopter mom makes a rude discovery that her mom is actually an alien hunter and the aliens have arrived but her mom has disappeared.  Crazy paranormal fun with more to follow.
 
 

You might also like:

 

Subscribe to Omnivoracious: The Amazon Book Review, featuring picks for the best books of the month, author interviews, reading recommendations, and more from the Amazon Books editors.



Read More

No comments:

Post a Comment