Share On Facebook ! Tweet This ! Share On Google Plus ! Share On Digg ! Share On Reddit ! Share On LinkedIn ! Post To Blogger !

The 2016 PEN Literary Award Winners

PEN-AwardsPEN America announced the winners for the 2016 PEN Literary Awards, including prizes for 2015 books in fiction, drama, sports writing, biography, translation, poetry, and more.

The winners will be honored at a ceremony held on April 11, at which time the winners for Debut Fiction, the Art of the Essay, Science Writing, the PEN Open Book Award, and the Emerging Writers Prize will be revealed.

Here's a sampling of today's winners. Visit their web site for the full list, as well as more information about PEN America and their mission.

PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction: To a distinguished living American author of fiction.
Winner: Toni Morrison
PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, Founded by Barbara Kingsolver: To an author of an unpublished novel that addresses issues of social justice.
Winner: Lisa Ko, The Leavers (forthcoming from Algonquin Books)
PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing: To honor a nonfiction book on the subject of sports published in 2015.
Winner: Scott Ellsworth, The Secret Game: A Wartime Story of Courage, Change, and Basketball's Lost Triumph

PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Literary Sports Writing: For a writer whose body of work represents an exceptional contribution to the field.
Winner: John Schulian

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography: For a distinguished biography published in 2015
Winner: Nancy Princenthal, Agnes Martin: Her Life and Art

You might also like:


Subscribe to Omnivoracious: The Amazon Book Review, featuring picks for the best books of the month, author interviews, reading recommendations, and more from the Amazon Books editors.

Read More

Next PostNewer Post Previous PostOlder Post Home

Popular Posts

Powered by Blogger.